About CCRA

Request Information

CCRA Officers 2021 – 2022


     Lynn Gurnee

Vice President

     Tamra Golinveaux


     Kryssie Mingst     


     Joni Smith           Jacque Young
     Karen Yee           Christy Condrin
     Nicole Matthew  Cara Sawyer

Best Professional Development Deal in Town.
CCRA events are FREE for members!


Join the CCRA Board

Leadership Opportunities for Educators

Membership Fees Paid by CCRA

  • Free Registration at CRA Conference
  • Build Your Leadership Capacity
  • Share Expertise and Ideas

The CCRA Board meets briefly after membership events. Everyone is welcome to attend leadership meetings. CCRA has a fun annual summer planning meeting.


Contra Costa Reading Association

We’re the local chapter established by a small and talented cadre of educators in Contra Costa County that believed an association of members dedicated to reading would benefit all stakeholders in our communities.

The Contra Costa Reading Association, a non-profit chapter of CRA, supports the mission of “Literacy for ALL” and believes:

  • “A room without books is like a body without a soul.”* CCRA gives away quality books to members at meetings & families through our summer slide program.
  • A good education can change anyone; a good teacher can change everything. CCRA offers inspiring professional development to educate the mind & heart of teachers
  • Children must be taught how to think, not just what to think.  “Let us remember: One book, one pen, one child, and one teacher can change the world!”*
  • Education is for improving the lives & leaving your community and world better than you found it.  

* From The Game Changers: Book Access for ALL Kids by Donalyn Miller

Join Us In These Worthy Goals!


Be Connected ~ Join our community Summer Slide free book program

Be Inspired ~ Check out our blog on Facebook@ccreadingassociation

Be Informed ~ Read our newsletter on CCRA News

Be Recognized ~ Celebrate Literacy Award given in May. It could be you!

Past Winners: Karen Yee, Lynn Gurnee,  Tamra Golinveaux, and Joni Smith.  

Kryssie Mingst & Nicole Matthew not pictured.

Cara Sawyer, Christy Condrin & Kim Geis CCRA Board Members join the celebration at CRA Conference.